WELCOME TO THE GERMAN CENTER FOR INTEGRATION AND MIGRATION RESEARCH

The German Center for Integration and Migration Research (DeZIM) is a political and scientific initiative in order to strengthen excellent and internationally visible integration and migration research in Germany. DeZIM fosters a sustainable exchange between universities and other research institutions. On this basis, it provides consulting to political actors, civil society and the interested public on issues of integration and migration. DeZIM is a two pillar model based on the DeZIM Institute and the DeZIM Research Community.

CONTEXT AND RELEVANCE

The rising number of global and European migration flows as well as the overall demographic change have placed issues of migration and integration at the center of socio-political debates in Germany. Therefore, DeZIM considers itself as a platform to bundle existing competencies in this field. Public and political debates often lack empirical evidence and instead often spread personal impressions, hearsay and speculations. At times of perceived uncertainty as well as heightened emotionality regarding issues of migration and integration, there is a need to respond with evidence-based and valid data and analyses. This is where the work of DeZIM starts.

FOUNDING PROCESS AND COOPERATION

In 2016, the German Bundestag decided to commission the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth (BMFSFJ) to establish a German Center for Integration and Migration Research. The former Federal Minister for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth, Dr. Katarina Barley, signed a cooperation agreement with the Governing Mayor of Berlin and Senator for Science and Research on 28 June 2017 to promote and support integration and migration research. In addition, the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs signed cooperation agreements with the federal states of Lower Saxony and Baden-Württemberg. Other federal states are already in negotiation to become further cooperation partners.

STRUCTURE

DeZIM is based on two pillars: the DeZIM Institute and the DeZIM Research Community. The DeZIM Institute is a Ministry-funded research institute headquartered in Berlin. It supports the work of the Ministry by providing excellent research and empirical data on relevant and urgent socio-political issues regarding:

  • patterns, backgrounds, causes and consequences of current migration movements,
  • the integration of migrants and their descendants with a focus on families, women, children, youth and senior citizens
  • aspects of integration for society as a whole, in particular the acceptance and rejection of plurality, (de-)radicalization processes, civil society involvement and welfare work.

The DeZIM Research Community consists of the following central institutions in the field of migration and integration research in Germany:

  • The Berlin Institute for Integration and Migration Research (BIM) at the Humboldt University of Berlin
  • The Institute for Employment Research (IAB) of the Federal Employment Agency
  • The Institute for Interdisciplinary Research on Conflict and Violence (IKG) at the University of Bielefeld
  • The Institute for Migration Research and Intercultural Studies (IMIS) at the University of Osnabrück
  • The Interdisciplinary Centre for Integration and Migration Research (InZentIM) at the University of Duisburg-Essen
  • The Mannheim Centre for European Social Research (MZES) at the University of Mannheim
  • Berlin Social Science Center (WZB)

The DeZIM Research Community enables an intensive exchange between these interdisciplinary institutions to develop innovative research perspectives and synergies between different research areas.

„The German Center for Integration and Migration Research will be unique in the German research landscape. We will be creating a sustainable research infrastructure, which we need to close research gaps and actively foster integration. We have to counter misinformation and speculations with facts!“
Dr. Katarina Barley (Federal Minister of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth)

„Integration and migration are one of the big topics of our time. In order to cope with these tasks in politics and in society we require well-founded scientific results. That’s the reason why it is so important to finally strengthen the integration and migration research in Germany together. In cooperation with a country-wide network of renowned institutes Berlin will provide an excellent home to this new Center.“
Michael Müller (Governing Mayor of Berlin and Senator for Higher Education and Research)

moreless

WILLKOMMEN IM DEUTSCHEN ZENTRUM FÜR INTEGRATIONS- UND MIGRATIONS­FORSCHUNG

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Integrations- und Migrationsforschung (DeZIM) ist eine bundesweite Initiative von Wissenschaft und Politik zur Stärkung einer exzellenten und international sichtbaren Integrations- und Migrationsforschung in Deutschland. Das DeZIM setzt sich für eine nachhaltige Vernetzung von universitären und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen ein. Es stellt auf dieser Grundlage eine evidenzbasierte Beratung von Politik, Öffentlichkeit und Zivilgesellschaft zu Themen von Integration und Migration sicher. Das DeZIM basiert auf zwei Säulen: dem DeZIM-Institut und der DeZIM-Gemeinschaft.

 

Kontext und Relevanz

Das anhaltend hohe Niveau globaler und europäischer Wanderungsbewegungen und der demografische Wandel haben Fragen der Migration und Integration in den Mittelpunkt der gesellschaftspolitischen Diskussion in Deutschland gerückt. Das DeZIM versteht sich dabei als eine Plattform, um die bestehenden Kompetenzen in diesem Feld zu bündeln.
In öffentlichen und politischen Diskussionen mangelt es oft an einer empirischen Basis. Viel speist sich aus persönlichen Eindrücken, Hörensagen und Mutmaßungen. In Zeiten, in denen empfundene Ungewissheit und überhöhte Emotionalität dominanter werden, benötigen wir wissenschaftlich gesicherte Daten und Einschätzungen. Hier setzt die Arbeit des Deutschen Zentrums für Integrations- und Migrationsforschung an.

Entstehungsprozess und Kooperation

Der Deutsche Bundestag hat 2016 beschlossen, Mittel bereitzustellen und das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ) mit dem Aufbau eines Deutschen Zentrums für Integrations- und Migrationsforschung zu beauftragen. Die damalige Bundesministerin für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend, Dr. Katarina Barley, unterzeichnete am 28. Juni 2017 gemeinsam mit dem Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin und Senator für Wissenschaft und Forschung eine Kooperationsvereinbarung, um die Integrations- und Migrationsforschung zu fördern und zu unterstützen. Darüber hinaus hat das Bundesfamilienministerium Kooperationsvereinbarungen mit den Bundesländern Niedersachsen und Baden-Württemberg geschlossen. Weitere Bundesländer sind bereits als Kooperationspartner im Gespräch. 

Aufbau und Struktur

Das DeZIM basiert auf zwei Säulen: dem DeZIM-Institut und der DeZIM-Gemeinschaft. Das DeZIM-Institut ist eine ressortforschungsähnliche Einrichtung mit Sitz in Berlin. Es unterstützt das BMFSFJ bei der Wahrnehmung seiner Aufgaben. Es liefert exzellente Forschung und empirische Daten zu relevanten und dringlichen gesellschaftspolitischen Fragestellungen wie 

  • Muster, Hintergründe und Folgen aktueller Migrationsbewegungen,
  • Integration von Migrant*innen und ihrer Nachkommen, mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf Familien, Frauen, Kinder und Jugendliche sowie ältere Personen,
  • Aspekte der gesamtgesellschaftlichen Integration, insbesondere der Akzeptanz bzw. Ablehnung von Vielfalt bis hin zu (De-)Radikalisierungsprozessen, dem zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagement und der Wohlfahrtsarbeit.  

Die DeZIM-Gemeinschaft setzt sich aus zentralen Einrichtungen der Integrations- und Migrationsforschung zusammen. Derzeit zählen hierzu sieben Forschungsinstitute in Deutschland: 

  • Berliner Institut für empirische Integrations- und Migrationsforschung (BIM) an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB) der Bundesagentur für Arbeit
  • Institut für interdisziplinäre Konflikt- und Gewaltforschung (IKG) an der Universität Bielefeld
  • Institut für Migrationsforschung und Interkulturelle Studien (IMIS) an der Universität Osnabrück
  • Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Integrations- und Migrationsforschung (InZentIM) an der Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung (MZES) an der Universität Mannheim
  • Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)

Durch einen intensiven Austausch der interdisziplinären Einrichtungen sollen innovative Forschungsperspektiven entwickelt und Synergien zwischen den einzelnen Forschungsbereichen erzeugt werden. 


„Das Deutsche Zentrum für Integrations- und Migrationsforschung wird einzigartig in der deutschen Forschungslandschaft sein. Wir werden eine nachhaltige Forschungsinfrastruktur aufbauen. Die benötigen wir, um Forschungslücken zu schließen und Integration aktiv zu gestalten. Falschinformationen und Mutmaßungen müssen wir Fakten entgegensetzen!“
Dr. Katarina Barley (Bundesministerin für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend)

„Integration und Zuwanderung gehören zu den großen Themen unserer Zeit. Für die Bewältigung der Aufgaben, die hieraus für Politik und Gesellschaft erwachsen, benötigen wir fundierte wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse. Deshalb ist es so wichtig, dass wir die Integrations- und Migrationsforschung in Deutschland nun gemeinsam stärken können. In Zusammenarbeit mit einem bundesweiten Netzwerk renommierter Institute wird Berlin dem neuen Zentrum eine hervorragende Heimat bieten.“
Michael Müller (Regierender Bürgermeister von Berlin und Senator für Wissenschaft und Forschung)

mehrweniger